Throwback Thursday: Fiona the goat…

 

Yep she’s mine… or was.  This is Fiona, a half Pygmy half Nigerian Dwarf goat.  I bottle fed her and her sister Phoebe and I think she thought this gave her special rank or something.  Fiona was the boss among the kids though she still was controlled by the herd leader Rosie.  I would like to think I still have a place in her heart, I know she does in mine.  Many are still shocked (or maybe interested) when I tell them I used to have goats.  I must admit that they are still one of the favorite pets I’ve ever had, and I still really miss them.  Lord willing I can some day have goats again, they really suit my personality (do what you want with that statement).     I used to let them graze around the yard, they loved eating the rows of dried grass that the mowers spit out and they especially loved to go on walks in the woods.  Good times, so there you have it, another throwback thursday, and this was way back, shot in 2007 or so I think.  Goats are SO not easy to photograph in close quarters, wish I had more photos of them.

Anyone else looking forward to Friday?  Weekend plans?

About Anna

I am a native of Virginia but recently relocated to Maryland I often feel I am simply a visitor... here to take note of little things people often pass by... I enjoy photography, family, the outdoors, reading, my vizsla... etc etc
This entry was posted in Animals, photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Throwback Thursday: Fiona the goat…

  1. Oh my, Fiona looks like quite the character. Weekend plans: finish up scholarship applications and enjoy the sun. Mmhmm!

    • Anna says:

      She was quite the character, a little brat at times even. But all goats have quite the personalities, or at least mine did. Thanks for stopping by, I don’t envy your weekend plans.. outside of the sun part maybe. Hoping to see some of that tomorrow. Good luck with applications!

  2. Awwww…would love to see a photo of baby Fiona and Phoebe!

    Happy Friday! Hope you have a great weekend!

    • Anna says:

      I wish I had some good ones. I would probably have to scan some actual photos I took with the film camera back in the day. The digital I had back then was horrid. I will tell you this though, baby goats are seriously one of the cutest animals on the planet, not to mention hilarious.
      Have a great weekend too!

  3. Artswebshow says:

    That is one fantastic portrait.
    My only suggestion, it would have been cool if the horns were not cut off.
    But still terrific angle, nicely caotured

    • Anna says:

      Thanks, yeah I agree wish I had the horn in there.. but like I said, they are SO not easy to photograph, especially in close quarters and when their horns are nearly a foot long. Thanks for the comment though, comp flaw noted 😉

Leave a Reply

