52 Weeks of Photos: Week 7; Great falls VA


Today I took a trip to Great Falls National Park… with Nicole and Nate (and I brought Luna too).  I have to admit, despite the wind gusts of 40+ MPH it was wonderful to get out and have new subjects to photograph.


I was drawn to the contrast of rocks and rapids, similar in some ways and yet so different.

For being liquid, the water had some amazing texture.. One of those things I could just sit and watch all day.

It’s been a long week, but I wanted to give you a sneak peek from today.  Many more to come so stay tuned.

Happy Saturday to all.

About Anna

I am a native of Virginia but recently relocated to Maryland I often feel I am simply a visitor... here to take note of little things people often pass by... I enjoy photography, family, the outdoors, reading, my vizsla... etc etc
This entry was posted in Nature, photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 52 Weeks of Photos: Week 7; Great falls VA

  1. Looks like a great place to shoot… I wonder how it would look with some long exposure ND shots softening that water too.. Nicely captured..

    • Anna says:

      yeah i think I may bring a tripod in the spring when we go back. I tried some longer exposures but have not looked at them yet. I probably will post more photos as I get a chance so check back, maybe there will be a long exposure keeper.
      Thanks for stopping by
      Anna

  2. Beautiful pictures. I love your photography!

  3. Pingback: Great Falls and Amazing Crochet «

  4. Stuart says:

    Hello… it was nice meeting both you and Nicole yesterday at Great Falls. Your pictures came out great! It’s too bad it has been such a dry winter because I would really like to get a shot of great falls when the water is up but that’s Mother Nature for you. I’ve posted my pics from yesterday under my flickr account (novaguy)… Enjoy the rest of your weekend. -Stuart

    • Anna says:

      Hey Stuart! thanks for stopping by, it was nice meeting you yesterday too. If you saw Nicole’s page we are planning another trip to Great falls in the spring (June 4). So hopefully the falls will be fuller then. I will check out your photos soon. Not sure when I will get to the rest of mine.
      Take care
      Anna

  5. Alexa says:

    Stunning! Sad I wasn’t able to make it out today, but I’ll definitely plan on going to the one in June. Glad the pictures turned out well! Did Luna have fun?

    • Anna says:

      Thanks. Yes Luna seemed to enjoy most of it. We got there around 10:30 and it wasn’t until about 2 that she started to not want to hang out with us. She actually did her “pout” at one of the overlooks while waiting for me to finish with pictures. We saw tons of people with dogs, and she did not make a peep over them, even when they were right in her face. So it was a good day.

Leave a comment